Meet Sophia, TFFT Scholarship Student

26 Jan

My name is Sophia, I am ten years old and in Standard Four. My favorite subjects in school are mathematics and geography and I really enjoy studying. I was born in the Tengeru Region of Arusha, Tanzania. Both of my parents passed away when I was very young. My mother was killed in a car accident and my father was stabbed by a knife. I was very young when my parents died so I never had the opportunity to see them. The stories of my parents’ deaths were told to me by my grandmother, who was the only one that was there to take care of me.

The saddest moment in my life was the time my grandmother told me that my parents had passed away. I felt really bad at this time in my life because I was lacking basic needs like food, clothes and education. I had a feeling that my life would be so difficult because those who were supposed to help me were not there. Even through all of this, I still trusted that my life would improve and that I would receive a scholarship to attend school even before I reached Standard One.

I joined The Foundation for Tomorrow when I was in Standard One. TFFT has changed my life in very big ways. First they gave me education – I had the opportunity to learn just like other people and also I was able to receive a quality education at a good school like what I am at now. TFFT also gave me things which I needed for school like clothes, shoes, soap, etc.  The happiest moment in my life is when I received my scholarship from TFFT and I was able to go to school. I felt so good after getting the scholarship and I was very happy. I will use my education in a good way and I will work hard in class. Still my dream is to be a teacher, and I know I can do it.

**Sweet Sophia write this narrative in the summer of 2011. She is now in Class Five.

*** Thank you to Anne Rhett for the beautiful photographs of Sophia

****Leave your thoughts/encouragement/support/questions for Sophia in the comments, and we’ll pass them along to her.

8 Responses to “Meet Sophia, TFFT Scholarship Student”

  1. Sari January 26, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Sophia,

    That was beautifully written. Thank you for having the courage to share your saddest moment with us, and also for sharing your happiest moment. It sounds like you have real faith and determination which is so important. Never let that go. You wrote, “Still my dream is to be a teacher, and I know I can do it.” Well, you know what? I know you can do it too! You have a lot of heart and certainly a lot to teach the world. Your parents would be so proud of you. Your TFFT certainly family is!

    I wish you continued success in your studies and can’t wait to hear about your experiences once you become a teacher.

    Love,
    Sari

  2. Pamela Preschlack January 26, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Dear Sophia,

    Reading this story made me sad and happy. Does that make sense? :). You are an inspiration to me. I believe you will become a teacher and your students will be lucky to have such a positive role model.

    Keep up the great work. I look forward to hearing more from you and other students.

    Thank you for sharing your story.

    All my best,

    Pam

  3. MyFriendMissM April 28, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Wow!! What an inspirational story, I was in Tanzania volunteering in the Nkoranga Orphanage in 2005 and many of my babies are now older and in boarding school. I came across this blog and it touched my heart, I miss Tanzania with every inch of my heart and soul. I am so happy to see that you have education, and that you have a happy life. :)

    • tfftafrica May 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      We are thrilled that you found TFFT and our blog! These kids are our world and hearing from someone who knows Nkoaranga, where so many of the kids come from, is amazing. Nkoaranga was our first partner orphanage because that is where Meghann originally volunteered in 2004 before starting TFFT in 2007!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The absolute TRUTH « TFFT's Blog - January 27, 2012

    […] Sophia beautifully and bravely shared her recollection of her past. In doing so she stated that her father was stabbed to death and her mother was killed in a car accident. […]

  2. Telling Our Stories « TFFT's Blog - February 24, 2012

    […] I have something for you that is also very interesting and important. Last month we published Sophia’s narrative and then followed that with this post addressing the importance of honesty. We plan to post more […]

  3. Meet Rosemary « TFFT's Blog - March 8, 2012

    […] our sweet girls in the comments below. If you’d like, you can read Sophia’s narrative here, and please remember our discussion on the truths revealed through writing here. We are so proud of […]

  4. Nancy’s Response « TFFT's Blog - May 15, 2012

    […] Hat her dream of becoming a fashion designer here. We will post responses from Irene, Rosemary, and Sophia as soon as we receive them. The kids absolutely love hearing from you!! Share […]

Leave a Reply

